Picks of the Week

Various "Christmas in the House" (KingStreet Records CD Promo)

Image KingStreet Records have put together something really special for the most joyous season of the year as they present a compilation where an all-star line-up of soulful house artists and producers presents songs written and performed especially for the holidays. Stephanie Cooke, Kenny Bobien, Diviniti and Pirahnahead, DJ Oji & Joi Cardwell, DJ Spen and the Muthafunkaz, Ananda Project featuring Terrance Downs and Heather Johnson and Frankie Feliciano featuring Monique Bingham - they are all featured on this wonderful album, presenting their view on christmas in a soulful and laidback, sometimes funky and uplifting way. And with Eric Kupper taking on the solemn classic "Silent night" and Jihad Muhammad's "It's holiday time", there are two beautiful instrumentals included as well.. Truly chtristmas came early this year!!


More Reviews

Kem "Love calls" (Darryl James Remixes)(Jellybean Soul Records CD Promo)

Kem has been a favorite for remixers in recent months, resulting in various splendid reworkings floating around on CD-R - gladly Jellybean Soul picked the best of them up for a proper release. Following up the Marlon D & Groove Assassin and Scott Wozniak remixes of "Heaven" are the Darryl James remixes of "Love calls" that give this beautiful song a soulful four-to-the-floor re-rub built around a groovy backdrop that is enriched with a warm melodic orchestration harmonizing perfectly with the passionate vocals.

Marlon D. featuring Pepper "L.O.V.E." (Jellybean Soul Records CD Promo)

On "L.O.V.E.", Marlon D. (Underground Collective) teams up with Martino (83 West) and singer Pepper to deliver a soulful production featuring sexy vocals over a deeply rumblin' groove that is enriched with marvelous spaced-out keys as only Martino can do them. Beside vocal and instrumental mixes, there are two great dub mixes included in the package that take the track to even deeper grounds, giving it a real underground vibe.

Melchyor A "Free n freeland" (Main Mix)(Unified Records CD Promo)

Melchyor A is dropping a slamming two track release here that will take you on a journey into real funky house sounds. First up is "Free n freeland", a deeply groovin' track that is full of funky flavors and features an outstanding jazzy saxophone solo. Next is "True love" which is getting even deeper and also slightly intensifies the groovy feeling to give it a more hypnotic feel, topped with great classic chords and catchy vocal samples.

Exclusive Preview: Mr. Mama "Mega bounce" (Demo Mix)(CD-R)

Italian producer and DJ Mr. Mama blesses us with his latest demo titled "Mega bounce", a deep track built around soulfully thumpin' beats that are enriched with sweet percussion and wicked keys that create a resistless hypnotic vibe perfect to get the crowd into a frenzy. More mixes of this track are expected soon.

Exclusive Preview: Danny Marquez & Tuccillo "Mumba" (Bubble Soul Records CD Promo)

Danny Marquez teams up with Tuccillo to follow up the massive "Trust in yourself" with a new bomb titled "Mumba", an absolutely irresistible track built around an afro flavored tribal beat that is topped with wicked vocals and catchy keys that altogether create a hypnotic vibe. The 'Tucci Deeper Dub' relaxes things for a way deeper take that has underground written all over it, with beautiful chords leading the way. Lastly there is the 'Tucci Tool', a great beat tool for the serious DJ.

In Deep We Trust "The intro" (Guess Records CD Promo)

Behind In Deep We Trust is Polish DJ and producer Martin Harmony who presents the fierce "The intro", a production featuring wicked spoken words over a bass heavy backdrop that is enriched with great synth chords. Various remixes are included in the release, with Spiritchaser turning up the power and adding some stylish chords perfect for bigger rooms, while Mocha and Bamo (one half of Spiritchaser) take the track deeper with atmospheric chords and a lovely piano creating a more laidback feeling. Lastly Dave Storm gives the track a slightly tougher vibe with great synths leading the way. Also included is an instrumental of the original version.

Sumo featuring Juvelen "It's good" (HEYA HiFi CD Promo)

Sumo team up with singer Juvelen (meaning jewel in english) for "It's good", a great production that combines Juvelen's sensual vocals with the deep and dirty disco-tech grooves from Sumo to create an exceptional piece of music that keeps things soulful while being hypnotic at the same time. Sumo's dub strips most of the vocals to let the chords to the talk, while Florian Kruse delivers a deep jackin' dub with a slight techy touch to it.

Exclusive Preview: DJ Reeplee featuring Jessica Braun "Get up" (Souvent Records CD Promo)

For his latest production, DJ Reeplee teams up with versatile singer Jessica Braun to present the groovy "Get up", a smoothly stompin' production where Jessica Braun delivers a passionate vocal performance over the funk flavored groove that is enriched with melodic keys and great jazzy horns. The remix and dub keep the funky vibes alive while giving the track more of a hypnotic jackin' sound that is guaranteed to rock the dance floors.

Christian Hornbostel featuring Keith Thompson "Measure of life" (Reelgroove Records CD Promo)

Christian Hornbostel and Keith Thompson follow up their successful collaboration from last year ("All god's children got rhythm" on SoulFuric Deep) with the massive "Measure of life", an irresistible track featuring a catchy piano alongside Keith Thompson's electrifying vocal over a relentlessly stormin' groove. The 'Sunset Session Mix' relaxes things with its smooth laidback groove and melodic chords, while the 'Tribe Mix' adds an afro-tribal vibe to the track, making it a peak time favorite. Deep Josh & Angel Pino team up to deliver a groovy interpretation spiced with great jazzy keys, while Alfred Azzetto reworks the track into an energetic main room contender with electronic keys over a powerful groove.

Todd Terry "Sunday morning" (Tony Records CD Promo)

Since its first appearance last year, this track by Todd Terry has been rocking dance floors all over the planet thanks to its uplifting gospel energy that will take you straight to church. The original is all about the resistless kickin' beat and the wicked synths and strings, while the 'Sun Dub' gets dirty with its funky ingredients and gritty beat. Kenny Dope gives the track a raw sound on his take that is somewhat smoother yet groovier than the original, with his dub augmenting the vibe. Sean McCabe from the Blak Beat Niks takes the track to the next level, intensifying the gospel feeling of the track to the max, with the beats irresistibly stompin', while the hand claps, wonderful organ ride and sweet guitar riff create a resistless hypnotic vibe you can't stop to dance to. Some serious 'Clap Beats' are included in the package as well.

Exclusive Preview: Alicia Keys "No one" (Matthias Heilbronn Remix)(J Records CD Promo)

As announced a couple of weeks ago, Matthias Heilbronn reworked Alicia Key's wonderful song "No one" - and what a treat these mixes are! His 'Soulflower Mix' is a wonderful downbeat rendition taking you on a journey into soulful reggae sounds, with lovely guitars accompanying Alicia Key's incomparable vocals. The 'Pata De Perro Mix' takes the song to up-tempo territory, making it a peak time favorite with its powerful pumpin' groove that is enriched with wicked keys and a great guitar solo that altogether create a relentless feeling.

Search this site...

Contact us...

You can contact us by completing the Contact Form.

Important Information...

Please check out this page for important informtation on music submissions for review consideration.