Picks of the Week

Tone Control featuring Adeola Ranson "Take me away" (Tone Control Music Records CD Promo)

Tone Control featuring Adeola Ranson - Take me away Simon Finnegan and Marcus Harris aka Tone Control team up with songstress Adeola Ranson to present "Take me away", a sublime deep house production featuring deeply felt vocals, celestial keys and exquisite trumpet courtesy of Nathan Thomas, all perfectly arranged over a smooth backdrop. Jose Carretas turns the track into an emotive affair built around a deep yet smoothly stormin' groove and marvelous keys by Kaidi Tatham, while the 6th Borough Project (The Revenge and Craig Smith) create a moody soundscape in their signature style that oozes with glorious melodies over a deep remorseless groove.

More Reviews

Roberto De Carlo & Steven Stone featuring Seyla "Believe" (Soul Deluxe Records CD Promo)

Back in July 2007, Soultronic Records released this outstanding production by Roberto De Carlo and Steven Stone titled "Believe" based on a groovy backing that is enriched with warm keys, classic strings and a lovely guitar alongside sweet vocals by Seyla, altogether creating a laidback feel. In addition to the timeless original, this brand new release includes an amazing dub by Knee Deep taking the track to the next level with its relentless groove and orbital melodies. Next is Roed Svensk's 'Classic Dub' giving the track an uplifting funky touch, followed by MoD & Staffan Thorsell's fierce yet soulful remix that brings out the best of Seyla's vocal.

Vick Lavender "Chicago Fusion EP Vol. 6 The Unreleased Mixes" (Sophisticado Records CD Promo)

The "Chicago Fusion EP Vol. 6" includes previously unreleased instrumental versions of two timeless gems released back in December 2008 through Sophisticado Records: "Just listen" by Rita J and "Come fly with me" by BTSC featuring Keana Johnson. What you get here is Vick Lavender at his best, impressing us once again with his unique vintage sound that is guaranteed to make you yearn for more...

Uncle James featuring Tony Marino "The godfather" (Gotta Keep Faith Records CD-R)

The original version of this stompin' funky jam by Raf DJ and Steve Paradise which features uplifting spoken words and vocals by Tony Marino, jazzy sax by Gerardo Vitale and groovy guitar licks by Sergio Bonura was included in last years "GKF Records - Miami Sampler 2009". This remix package includes a deeper jazz-funk fueled dub by Steve Paradise, a sweet selection of mixes by Steve Frisco (a deep atmospheric dub, a spaced out peak time version and an old skool synth driven down tempo dub), a deep mesmeric remix by DJ Umbi and lastly Dee Crell's classy funk soaked broken beat styled dub.

Exclusive Preview: Patrice Rushen "Settle for my love" (J & J Soultempo Disko Mix)(CD-R)
Exclusive Preview: Trina Broussard "Inside my love" (J & J Soultempo Hellyism Mix)(CD-R)

JayceeInDaMix and Jere McAllister team up as J & J Soultempo to deliver two delicious booty reworks available on vinyl through Vinyl Junkies. You get an uplifting groovy rework of Trina Broussard's "Inside my love" (released in 1997 on the "Love Jones the Music" compilation and originally done by Minnie Ripperton back in the days) and discofied interpretation of the Patrice Rushen ballad "Settle for my love" from her 1979 album "Pizzazz" (which also includes the timeless "Haven't you heard").

Exclusive Preview: Maysa "Walk away" (SoS Edit)(CD-R)
Exclusive Preview: Angie Stone "Why is it" (SoS Edit)(CD-R)
Exclusive Preview: Q-Harper "No ordinary love" (SoS Edit)(CD-R)

Mark Jordan follows up his beautiful interpretation of Luther Vandross' "Apologize" (reviewed here at Spirit of House last week) with equally great reworks of "Walk away" by Maysa, "Why is it" by Angie Stone and "No ordinary love" by Q-Harper which all stay respectful to the original while transforming the songs into smooth 4/4 stompers sure to please the soulful heads.

Rasmus Faber featuring Dyanna Fearon "Everytime we" (FarPlane Records CD Promo)

"Everytime we" is the latest single lifted from Rasmus Faber's highly acclaimed "Where we belong" album and features delightful vocals by Reel People vocalist Dyanna Fearon. The original is a beautiful balearic style anthem featuring gorgeous synths and jazzy piano over a soulful groove. The 'Smooth Mix' relaxes the vibe to give the track a laidback mellow feel, while Scotland's Suneil S serves a straight 4/4 dance floor thumper that combines the piano with atmospheric melodies. Russia's Igor Dorohov is firing things up on his deep yet dreamy remix, with the piano being accompanied by lush synths and chords.

Hard Mix "Take it" (Mercado Paralelo Music Records CD Promo)

With "Take it", Hard Mix present a deep and groovy stomper that is build around a funktified percussion enriched backing and features cool vocals alongside warm keys which together create a feel good vibe. The 'Organ' mixes add a wicked organ to the game to further intensify the vibe.

Jae Vynel "Sax over Miami EP" (Open Bar Music Records CD Promo)

The "Sax over Miami EP" features the two tracks "Close your eyes" and "Sax over Miami" which both feature luscious sax play by Cuban native Yanir over a smooth yet contaminous percussion enriched backdrop. Close your eyes, forget its wintertime and enjoy the summery, sexy vibes created by these two beauties...

Search this site...

Contact us...

You can contact us by completing the Contact Form.

Important Information...

Please check out this page for important informtation on music submissions for review consideration.