Picks of the Week

Fuzion & DJN Project "Feelings" (Fuzion Records CD Promo)

Fuzion & DJN Project - Feelings George Mena, Franke Estevez and DJN Project join forces to present this soulful, uplifting masterpiece titled "Feelings" that features deeply felt vocals by Rick Galactik, a cool rap by Charles Victor and delicious keys and chords over a phat funk soaked groove. Gruv Masterz (Jose Burgos, Jerrell Battle, Franke Estevez) give the track an underground touch on their resistless rub, followed by DJN Project & Fuzion's deep melodious interpretation. Next is DJN Project's rework, a groovy laidback affair featuring luscious keys by John Crockett. Completing the package are pumped-up mixes by Fuzion featuring contagious synth melodies and hooks. The video is available here.

More Reviews

Exclusive Preview: Maminstrumental "Mondonuovo EP" (CyberJamz Records CD Promo)

Behind Maminstrumental is Italy's Mr. Mama who presents the five track "Mondonuovo EP", with all the proceeds going towards the Haiti Relief Organization. It's Mr. Mama at his best, showcasing his different sides from sublime over jazzy to techy, with all the tracks included bringing you his beloved deep and remorseless yet soulful sound, featuring lush keys and chords over infectious backdrops. Best of all, you get the chance go get some of his previously unreleased tracks such as "New York City" and "Black hole".

Exclusive Preview: Mindlo featuring Essential I "A walk in the dark" (Cabana Records CD Promo)

With "A walk in the dark", South Africa's rising stars Mindlo and Essential I present a deeper than deep production full of celestial melodies which are backed up by an intriguing percussion enriched groove, altogether spreading a contaminous feel. The package features a selection of massive remixes by Justin Imperiale, Kat La Kat, DJ Hypnosis, DJ Bullet, DJ Tessen and the Infinite Boys who all their unique touch to the track while staying true to its African roots.

Raffa & Toro "The Muck EP" (Devotion Records CD Promo)

After kicking the year off strong with the vocal gem "My change (is gonna come)" by Ruben Mancias, Devotion Records present the next bomb titled "The Muck EP" courtesy of Italy's Raffa & Toro (Raffaele Scoccia and Alessio Trisorio). Both "The muck" and "Dance track" feature outstanding hammond organ rides which guarantee jam-packed floors over relentless backings, with "The muck" being a percussive deep afro-latin affair, while "Dance track" is on a stylish old school tip.

DJ Ride featuring Ava June "Streetlife" (Push On Music Records CD Promo)

Swiss based Push On Music return for 2010 with an uplifting peak time anthem built around a powerful deep backing that features captivating vocal hooks by Ava June and a killer jazzy saxophone by Tommy Inderbinen. Terry Lex contributes both a classy re-edit that gives the track a funked-up feel as well as an electrofied remix for the main rooms.

Groove Assassin "Journeys EP" (NiteGrooves Records CD Promo)

Nick Moss aka Groove Assassin follows up last years massive "Trinidad" / "Workout" release with en even more impressive, truly versatile five track package titled "Journey EP". Its hard to pick a favorite out of the five tracks as they're all guaranteed to send the crowd into a frenzy with their ruthless grooves and fantastic keys and chords. And with tracks such as "Afrika bounce" included that bring back memories from the past, the sublime "Kakawin", the chunky "Fulani's groove", the mesmeric "Back to windy city" and the beat heavy "Underground 4 Eva", there is something for everyone lovin' deep house.

Heather Johnson "Happiness" (Fanatix Remix)(KingStreet Records CD Promo)

The title track from Heather Johnson's highly acclaimed "Happiness" long player gets a well deserved single release that features the original album version, progressive remixes by Japan production team DJ Ogawa and Unic as well interpretations by Fanatix (Aaron Ross and Neil Pierce) who take Heather Johnson's ethereal voice to the next level on their deep underground tinged rubs, with the 'Main Vocal Mix' being a melodious smoothly thumpin' affair, while the 'Underground Mix' gets dark and moody.

LIps "Mbali" / "The conscious" (NiteGrooves Records CD Promo)

South Africa's house music scene is constantly growing, with LIps being a brand new artist who is offering two tracks of deepest afro house that are infectious and fueled with mesmerizing melodies guaranteed to cause a stir on the dance floor. "Mbali" is a straight forward percussion driven affair full of atmospheric chords, while "The conscious" creates an even more hypnotic feel with its monotonous synths over a fierce 4/4 backdrop.

Search this site...

Contact us...

You can contact us by completing the Contact Form.

Important Information...

Please check out this page for important informtation on music submissions for review consideration.