Picks of the Week

Blaze presents Underground Dance Artists United for Life "Keep Hope Alive" (SuSu Records 2x12" Test Pressing)

Already released in Japan and the USA, this wonderful album now gets a UK release on SuSu Records. The double-pack vinyl sampler comes complete with exclusive remixes and brand new tracks alongside the in demand Dennis Ferrer remix of "Most precious love" featuring Barbara Tucker. "Not far away" and "What makes the world go round" are new productions, the later featuring the soulful voice of Stephanie Cooke, both being on a laidback and mellow vibe, featuring the unmistakable Blaze sound. "Spread love" featuring Byron Stingily is featured in a brand new and slammin' Will Milton remix, whle "Hiya luv" featuring Kenny Bobien is remixed by Phil 'The Medicine Man' Hooten and "A wonderful place" featuring Barbara Tucker is included here in the 'Bobby & Steve & James Ratcliff Afro Remix'. The package gets completed with the original version of "Be yourself" featturing Joi Cardwell and the 'Roots Vocal Mix' of the title track featuring Dawn Tallmann.


More Reviews

Hope Collective "Give and let live" (Expansion Records 12")

This charity project was organised by Bluey from Incognito to help the victims of the tsunami disaster of past december. It features a long list of artists including Chaka Khan, Jocelyn Brown, Maysa, Omar, Don-E to name just a few (go here for more information). Louie Vega & Joe Claussell are responsible for the remixes coming on a smooth and soulful vibe, spreading a live feeling. The dub is stripped of the vocals and lets the instrumentation do the talk, intensifying the live feeling of this record.

Blaze featuring Barbara Tucker "Most precious love" (Remixes)(KingStreet Records 12")

After the massive remix by Dennis Ferrer, there is a brand new set of mixes available, either on KingStreet 12" or two separate 12" on Defected (who also have a twelve track CD-single including all available versions). Martin Solveig provides a hot re-edit of the Dennis Ferrer remix, while Franck Roger comes up with a deeply groovin', piano driven reworking and Copyright deliver slamming club and dub mixes.

Aaliyah "Rock the boat" (Vincent Sosumi Remix)(12" White Label)

Vincent Sosumi is delivering his tribute to Aaliyah with his reworking of her "Rock the boat". His interpretation is based on a smoothly stompin' groove that is added with a funky bassline, lovely guitar and warm melodic keys, giving the song a laidback vibe.

Louie Vega featuring Mr. V "V gets jazzy" (Vega Records 12")

Louie Vega and Mr. V team up for a cover of the KC Flightt classic form 1987 that comes with a slightly syncopated rhythm, phat bassline, jazzy keys, rattling percussion and a wicked rap vocal by Mr. V, spreading an irresistible vibe through its old-school vibe.

Milesart Orchestra "Time for peace 2005" (Joan Ribas Mix)(Ibiza Soulstice Music CD Promo)

Ibiza Soulstice Music are back with the follow up to the wonderful first release the "Better Times EP". Milesart Orchestra stike again with their new production "Time for peace 2005", a percussively bumpin' laidback production with a lovely guitar, great jazzy keys and a cool male vocal on top, spreading an uplifting feeling through its harmonic vibes.

Alison Crockett "Alive" (RedSoul Edit)(CD-R)

Dave Wareing is back under his RedSoul moniker with a great reworking of Alison Crockett's "Alive", taking the song straight to the dancefloor with stormin' beats, a funky bassline and melodic keys that serve as playground for the sweet voice of Alison Crockett.

George Mena & Franke Estevez featuring Maxine Inniss "Standing strong (without U)" (Unreleased Mixes)(Fuzion Records CD-R)

Here we have two unreleased mixes of this uplifting and soulful production that just got released. First up is the 'Peak Time Vocal Mix', coming with a pumped-up groove and extra keys, creating a more powerful vibe compared to the mixes on the 12" single. Second is the instrumental of the original vocal version. These mixes are only available as MP3 download at Traxsource and won't be released on vinyl.

Africanism All Stars "Summer moon" (Yellow Records 2x12")

Yellow Records celebrate their 200th release with this double-pack release by the Africanism All Stars that is produced Bob Sinclar, Tim Deluxe, David Guetta and Joachim Garraud and features vocalist Ben Onono. "Summer moon" is an uplifting and powerful production with afro influences that has the potential to become an summer anthem.

Justin Michael & Darwin Paul "Hermosa EP" (Look-At-You Records CD Promo)

Californian duo Justin Michael & Darwin Paul present the "Hermosa EP", their debut for Look-At-You Records. The EP kicks off with "Tropical rhythm", a groovy track with sweet percussion over a deeply rumblin' groove that features a wonderful sexy vocal together with jazzy keys and a moody organ line. "Sax capade" is a driving track based on a funkily stormin' groove, topped with catchy keys and a jazzy trumpet, creating a jazz-funky vibe. "Sax na praia" is based on a tribal-ish beat and a funky bassline, with a wicked saxophone hook leading the way. The 'Soulful Edit' of "Sax na praia" smoothes the groove down a bit and features additional jazzy keys, creating a laidback vibe.

Classic Reviews

Ralphie Rosario featuring Xaviera Gold "You used to hold me" (HotMix 5 Records 12", 1987)

Timeless house classic by Ralphie Rosario and Xaviera Gold that got released on the legendary HotMix 5 Records label.

Search this site...

Contact us...

You can contact us by completing the Contact Form.

Important Information...

Please check out this page for important informtation on music submissions for review consideration.