Picks of the Week

Exclusive Preview: Alfredo Norese featuring Maxyne Ryan "Come on over" (Soulful Mix)(Unsigned CD-R)
Exclusive Preview: Alfredo Norese & Kaysee "Lift me up" (Funk To The Punk Mix)(Unsigned CD-R)

We are proud to bring two currently unsigned productions by Alfredo Norese to your attention. First up is "Come on over" featuring sensitive vocals by Maxyne Ryan alongside classic strings and horns, lovely guitar and melodic keys over a smooth yet fierce, funk drenched groove, altogether spreading a laidback vibe. Second is "Lift me up" which is built around a relentlessly stompin' funk soaked groove, featuring Kaysee who blesses us with her heartfelt vocal performance, while the lush synth chords and wicked guitar riff intensify the vibe to the climax.

More Reviews

Phil Hooton vs Paul Robeson "Keys to Jerico" (Jerico Calypso Bass Lick Remix)(Rapture Trax Records CD Promo)

Here we have a wonderful alternate version of "Key to Jerico" by Phil Hooton (featuring an outstanding trumpet solo by Peter Wraight alongside lush mesmerizing keys by Mark Gamble and out of this world vocals courtesy of Paul Robeson) that has got a sweet'n'lovely Calypso touch to it. As we said last week: one not to be missed.

Spencer Gray "Precious" (LoveSlap! Records CD Promo)

Behind Spencer Gray are Marc-Alan Gray and Charles Spencer who present the second single "Precious" taken from the "Dreaming in Color" set for a release in February 2009. "Precious" features sultry vocals of Imanu Uzuri over a smooth, deeply rumblin' groove that is enriched with warm melodic keys. 1200 Warriors provide the remix, taking the track to deeper grounds to give it a more underground yet very soulful bumpin' feel.

Chieko Kinbara featuring Sharon Adams & Lisa Mack "Changed my life" (KingStreet Records CD Promo)

Originally only available on the Japan import album release "Sweetest Day", the DJ Spen & the MuthaFunkaz produced "Changed my life" sees classical violinist Chieko Kinbara team up with vocalists Sharon Adams and Lisa Mack to take you to the church with this spiritual gospel house anthem featuring an uplifting piano alongside beautiful violins and magnificent vocals.

Filin Brake, Greg Dorban, Eman "Change the world" (ReelGroove Records CD Promo)

The one and only Eman delivers an excellent spoken word message oozing with truth and honesty on "Change the world", with Filin Brake and Greg Dorban on production duties. The 'Original' is an old school styled deep house track with huge synth strings accompanying the vocals, while Greg Dorban's remix gives the track a chunky feel, using lush jazzy keys and sweet strings to create a captivating vibe. Lastly Filin Brake gets funky on his take, adding great funky horns and phat synths.

SWV "You're the one" (Darren Campbell Classic Garage Mix)(Sounds of Subway Records CD Promo)

SWV's "You're the one" was released in 1996, back then it was a huge r&b/new jack swing club smash. This classic has been given a house makeover by Darren Campbell who turns it into a soulfully thumpin' house anthem on a classic garage tip, with mesmerizing synths and chords accompanying the slightly pitched-up vocals to create a relentless vibe on the dance floor.

MuSol featuring Diana Waite "The solution" (Barcoda Records CD Promo)

MuSol (Musical Solution) presents the wonderful "The solution" featuring passionate vocals by Diana Waite alongside a marvelous trumpet solo and jazzy piano over a fierce yet soulful groove. Central Avenue give the track a more kickin' feel on their 'CA Rework', while the dub is a deep underground-ish affair. Paul Keeley's remix is the choice for the bigger rooms thanks to the massive electro sounds, while Phonic Funk turn out a heavily thumpin' version featuring wicked synths to create a relentless vibe.

Hollis P Monroe featuring Christa "This way" (Bargrooves Records CD Promo)

Philly born Hollis P Monroe presents the sublime soulful production "This way" featuring a sexy vocal by Christa over a loungey, percussion enriched backing that is topped with beautiful melodies created by warm keys and chords. Andy Daniell slightly intensifies the vibe and gives the track a groovy feel perfect for the discerning house floors. Hideo Kobayashi contributes two interpretation to the package: a pretty deep house version with a jazzy touch and a deep tech flavored version.

Stephanie Cooke "A new day" (Remixes)(Home Records CD Promo)

The 83 West produced "A new day" by Stephanie Cooke was the debut release for Home Records back in January 2005, now this classic gets reworked by Guy Robin and DJ Garphie. Guy Robin gets deep and hypnotic on his take, using captivating synth hooks and wicked chords together with Stephanie Cooke's unmistakable vocals to create an irresistible vibe. DJ Garphie takes the track to deep laidback grounds while adding a slight tech-soul touch, with the tribal tinged groove creating a mesmeric vibe.

Copyright featuring Imaani "Deeper" (Defected Records CD Promo)

"Deeper" is lifted from Copyright's debut album "Voices & Visions", with Imaani providing passionate vocals over a deep yet smoothly stormin' backdrop that is enriched with sweet percussion and spacy synth chords. The Dutch team of Baggi Begovic and Soul Conspiracy are responsible for the remixes, with their vocal take being a heavily thumpin' affair on a deeper edge whose chords create an intense feel, while Baggi Begovic's dub is a tougher electronic affair.

Studio Apartment featuring Yasmeen Sulieman "Sun will shine" (Defected Records CD Promo)

The original version of Studio Apartment's "Sun will shine" which features an outstanding vocal by Yasmeen Sulieman was released a couple of month back, and it has become a favorite in the main rooms since thanks to the catchy synths and resistless groove. Now Copyright take on the track and inject their infectious, drum driven tribal flavored style to fire up the track even more into an absolutely merciless dance floor stomper.

Search this site...

Contact us...

You can contact us by completing the Contact Form.

Important Information...

Please check out this page for important informtation on music submissions for review consideration.